Welcome the Flintlock Theatre - an original theatre company in Oxford

Honorary Patron: Ian Ricketts


Robin Colyer - Artistic Director

Robin trained at Guildford School of Acting. His work as an actor has taken him to some of the UK's most prominent venues, including the Barbican Theatre, Edinburgh Playhouse, Shakespeare's Globe and many appearances at the Watermill Theatre. In 2010, Robin made his directorial debut remounting the award-winning production of Spend! Spend! Spend! at the Watermill Theatre.

Robin's career to date has been diverse, including work as a double-bassist, composition for theatre, fight direction and stage combat teaching (BADC & APC qualified) and the co-devising of several innovative pieces of installation theatre with Indra's Web for the Barbican Art Gallery.

His passion for passing on skills to the younger generation has led him to be involved with various youth theatre companies, and in 2010 Robin founded the Oxford Academy of Performing Arts, with co-principal Anna Glynn.

Anna Glynn - Executive Director

After studying English Literature at Durham University, Anna went on to train at Guildford School of Acting where she won the Sir Michael Redgrave Award and the Principal's Award for acting.

Anna's theatre credits include a UK tour with the Birmingham Stage Company's adaptation of the popular children's novel, Skellig; Belle in A Christmas Carol for Creation Theatre; Grusha in The Caucasian Chalk Circle for Blackeyed Theatre, and a series of literary cabarets for Scary Little Girls in association with The Theatre, Chipping Norton. Anna played the roles of Anna and Bobchinsky in Flintlock's 2012 production of The Government Inspector.

Together with Flintlock artistic director Robin Colyer, Anna founded the Oxford Academy of Performing Arts.

Associate Artists

Ben Ashton

Ben trained at Bristol Old Vic Theatre School. Upon graduation he was awarded the Patricia Routledge Award and was nominated for the Spotlight Prize. Ben's theatre credits include: Paris in Romeo & Juliet (RSC); Rivers/Richmond in Richard III and the title role in Hamlet (Guilford Shakespeare Company); Benvolio in Romeo & Juliet (Creation Theatre). Ben also took part in the RSC's social network-based theatrical experiment, Such Tweet Sorrow, playing the role of Mercutio. Last year he was selected to take part in a workshop for the RSC led by the renowned voice coach Cicely Berry, entitled Directors' Cuts & Henry V.

Francesca Binefa

Francesca Binefa trained at Guildford School of Acting. Since leaving drama school she toured Spain and Portugal for an English theatre company and stayed the year working in Barcelona. Whilst there she starred in the award winning short film Love At First Sight which qualified for OSCAR 2012 in the short film section. Other credits include Jane Eyre at the Rosemary Branch Theatre, Serious Money at the Electric Theatre and The Kitchen at the Mill Studios. Francesca is also associate artist of 'The Smoothed Faced Gentlemen' a multi-award winning all female Shakespeare company. Credits with them include Romeo & Juliet and Titus Andronicus. She is thrilled to be working with Flintlock Theatre following their success last year.

Christopher Hawes

Christopher launched Slingshot Theatre in 2010 and has since toured the UK with their debut production The Zanniskinheads and the Quest for the Holy Balls, supported by the Arts Council England.

Jeremy Barlow

Jeremy trained at Guildford School of Acting and has performed in a wide variety of productions, including Rufus Norris' West End production of Hergé's The Adventures of Tintin and the title role in two plays of the Dick Barton series at the award-winning Warehouse Theatre, Croydon.

Jeremy is a BADC certified stage combat teacher and founder member of the APC, and has worked extensively in film and theatre as a fight choreographer and actor-combatant in venues ranging from Frensham Heights School to the Royal Opera House, Covent Garden.

Samuel Davies

Sam trained at Guildford School of Acting, graduating in 2006 with the Principal's Award for acting. Since graduating, his theatre credits include: Bottom in A Midsummer Night's Dream and Judd in Bouncers for Black Rat theatre company; Mr Marango in Arnold Wesker's The Kitchen at The Mill Studio (Yvonne Arnaud Theatre) and a wide range of characters in A Rake's Progress and Pinocchio for Strangeface theatre company.

As an actor, musician, teacher and writer, Sam's career to date has been a varied and busy one and he relishes his time with Flintlock Theatre.